How Many Photos Does Each Product Need on Flipkart and Amazon India?

Flipkart asks for a minimum of 2 images and prefers 3, while Amazon sets no maximum at all and recommends at least six additional images plus one video. Etsy allows up to 20 photos and 2 videos; Ajio and Myntra could not be verified for a maximum image count from any source.

By Arnav, Comparisons Writer ·

Key facts

  • Flipkart's minimum is 2 images with 3 preferred, and that figure comes from Fynd's integration documentation rather than from Flipkart's own site.
  • Amazon states no maximum image count and recommends uploading at least 6 additional images plus 1 video.
  • Amazon's spec sets a 500 px minimum and a 10,000 px maximum on the longest side; 1,000+ px is what turns on zoom, and Amazon.in asks for at least 1,001 px.
  • Etsy allows up to 20 photos and 2 videos per listing, recommends at least 2,000 px, and warns that images larger than 1 MB in file size may not finish uploading.
  • Meta catalog listings need at least 1 image per product with 4+ recommended; Ajio, Myntra, Meesho and Nykaa publish no maximum image count that could be verified.
  • Fluxx.work charges 12 credits per image, so a 7-image listing set costs 84 credits — the ₹475 Trial pack covers 7 images and the ₹2,999 Pro pack covers 62.

Flipkart's floor is 2 images, with 3 preferred

Flipkart's documented minimum is 2 images per listing with 3 preferred, from Fynd's integration documentation rather than Flipkart's own site. That is a floor, not a target: two images is what stops a listing being incomplete, not what sells a product. The same documentation sets the technical side — at least 1000×1000 px, JPEG only, a white or light grey background, no text or watermark, and the product alone with no props. Apparel flips the background rule: light grey with a soft shadow is required, a white background will not be accepted, and mannequins are not allowed. Flipkart's maximum image count could not be verified from any source.

Amazon recommends six additional images plus a video, and states no maximum

Amazon's guidance is a recommendation rather than a cap: upload at least six additional images and one video, and no maximum is stated anywhere in its help text. The main image is the constrained one — 500 px minimum on the longest side, 10,000 px maximum, 72 dpi minimum, JPEG, TIFF, PNG or non-animated GIF, pure white RGB 255,255,255, and the product at 85% of the frame; Amazon.in tightens the resolution floor to at least 1,001 px. The six images are additional to the main image, so a well-built listing is roughly 7–8 assets before any category-specific extras. Sellers who upload one or two images are the outliers, not the norm.

Etsy allows 20 photos and 2 videos; Ajio and Myntra have no verified maximum

Etsy is the only channel in this comparison with a stated ceiling: up to 20 photos and 2 videos per listing. It recommends at least 2,000 px for listing photos, warns that images larger than 1 MB in file size may not finish uploading, and says the first photo should be at least 635 px or the listing ranks lower. Ajio and Myntra give no maximum that could be verified. Myntra does require front, side and back views, so 3 images is the practical floor there, with a 3:4 aspect ratio at 1080×1440 or more, 72 dpi or more, and a file size of 500 KB–1 MB. Ajio requires a 1:1.25 ratio and more than 1000 px in both dimensions at 200 KB–1 MB.

What each slot should actually hold

If Amazon suggests six additional images, spend them deliberately: one for scale or context, one close-up of the feature buyers ask about, one detail of construction or material, one on-model or in-use, one showing packaging or what is in the box where the platform allows it off the main image, and one size or comparison chart. Flipkart's three preferred images map to front, detail and alternate angle. For apparel, Myntra's front, side and back requirement is a good default even where it is not mandatory, because back construction is the view sellers most often omit and the one buyers return garments over. The count matters less than covering the questions a shopper cannot answer by holding the product.

Where the count becomes a budget: 84 credits per SKU

Fluxx.work charges 12 credits per image, so a 7-image listing set is 84 credits. The ₹475 Trial pack holds 95 credits and covers 7 images; ₹999 Growth holds 222 credits and covers 18; ₹2,999 Pro holds 750 credits and covers 62; ₹9,999 Business holds 2,857 credits and covers 238; and ₹24,999 Agency holds 7,936 credits and covers 661. That makes the arithmetic direct: a 50-SKU refresh at one 7-image set each is 350 images, or 4,200 credits, which is ₹48.37 per image on the Pro tier rather than a quote that changes with the number of angles you ask for.

Planning one count across Amazon, Flipkart and your own store

The three destinations rarely want the same set. Amazon's recommendation of six additional images plus a video is the widest; Flipkart's minimum of 2 with 3 preferred is the narrowest; Etsy's ceiling of 20 photos and 2 videos suits a jewellery or handmade catalogue where buyers expect many angles. Build the largest set you can defend, then trim per channel: one 7-image set can serve Amazon in full, Flipkart with the background switched to light grey for apparel, and your own store with the extra lifestyle frames. Generating a superset once is cheaper than generating per channel, because the seventh image costs the same 12 credits whether you make it now or later.

Verified product-image counts per channel for Indian sellers
ChannelMinimum imagesRecommended or maximumSource
Flipkart2 images3 preferred; no maximum publishedFynd integration docs — secondary
Amazon (US and India)Not statedAt least 6 additional images plus 1 video; no maximum statedAmazon seller help — official
EtsyFirst photo at least 635 px or ranking dropsUp to 20 photos and 2 videos; 2,000 px or more recommendedEtsy help — official
AjioNot statedMaximum could not be verifiedFynd integration docs — secondary
MyntraFront, side and back mandatory — 3 viewsMaximum could not be verifiedFynd integration docs — secondary
Meta (Facebook and Instagram) catalog1 image per product4 or more recommendedMeta business help — official
ShopifyNot statedNo maximum images rule publishedShopify help — official
Meesho and NykaaNo verified countNo verified countNo source reached

Benefits

auto_awesome

Exact image counts per channel instead of a guessed 6–8 for everything

bolt

Clear separation between a minimum that avoids rejection and a maximum that does not exist

verified

A credit figure (84 per 7-image set) that turns the count into a budget line

How It Works

1

1

Set the count from the strictest channel you sell on, starting at Flipkart's 2 with 3 preferred.

2

2

Extend to Amazon's six additional images plus a video for the listings that carry your margin.

3

3

Generate one 7-image set per SKU at 12 credits per image, or 84 credits.

4

4

Trim and resize per channel, switching apparel to a light grey background where required.

Best Practices

Common Mistakes

Trusted by 1,200+ businesses worldwide

starstarstarstarstar

“The level of depth in these AI generations is indistinguishable from a ₹5L studio shoot. It's transformed our e-commerce game.”

AK

Arjun K.

CEO, Kids Apparel Brand · Bengaluru

starstarstarstarstar

“Our click-through rate jumped by 34%. The textures and lighting are so realistic, customers can almost feel the product.”

SP

Sneha P.

Founder, Coffee Brand · Coorg

starstarstarstarstar

“I was worried the product would look different across images. The identity lock is real — colours, logo, everything stays pixel-perfect.”

RM

Rahul M.

Head of Growth, Men's Fashion · Delhi

starstarstarstarstar

“The AI-contextual backgrounds just work. It reads the product and picks the right aesthetic. We've stopped paying for stock photo subscriptions.”

PS

Priya S.

Founder, Skincare Brand · Mumbai

Frequently Asked Questions

How many images does Flipkart require per listing?

Flipkart's documented minimum is 2 images per listing with 3 preferred, from Fynd's integration documentation rather than Flipkart's own site; the same spec asks for at least 1000×1000 px and JPEG only.

What is Amazon India's maximum number of product images?

Amazon states no maximum. It recommends uploading at least six additional images plus one video, on top of a main image that must be at least 500 px on the longest side (1,001 px on Amazon.in) and at most 10,000 px.

How many photos can I put on an Etsy listing?

Up to 20 photos and 2 videos. Etsy recommends at least 2,000 px for listing photos, says the first photo should be at least 635 px or the listing ranks lower, and warns that images larger than 1 MB may not finish uploading.

Do Ajio and Myntra limit how many product images I can upload?

No maximum could be verified for either. Myntra does require front, side and back views — so 3 images is the practical floor — at 1080×1440 or more in a 3:4 ratio, and Ajio requires more than 1000 px in both dimensions at a 1:1.25 ratio.

How many images does a 7-image listing set cost on Fluxx?

84 credits, because each Fluxx.work image costs 12 credits. The ₹475 Trial pack (95 credits) covers exactly 7 images and the ₹2,999 Pro pack (750 credits) covers 62.

What is the minimum image size for a Flipkart product photo?

At least 1000×1000 px, JPEG only, on a white or light grey background with no text or watermark — and for apparel, light grey with a soft shadow, because a white background will not be accepted.

Why Fluxx.work

Fluxx.work makes the image count a fixed cost rather than an open question: at 12 credits per image a 7-image listing set is 84 credits, so adding the sixth or seventh slot to every SKU is a number you can budget before the season starts.

Related Pages

Get started — no card needed to sign up

Start with the ₹475 Trial pack (95 credits). See your product in a professional photo shoot in under 2 minutes.

Generate Free Photos →