Marketplace Image Size and Resolution Best Practices

Marketplace pixel minimums range from 500 px on the longest side at Amazon US to 1080 x 1440 at Myntra, and only Amazon names an exact background colour: pure white, RGB 255,255,255. Flipkart and Myntra apparel listings are the exception, where white is rejected in favour of light grey.

By Puneet Dugar, Founder · · Last updated:

Key facts

  • Amazon's minimum is 500 px on the longest side with a 10,000 px maximum; Amazon India states at least 1001 px.
  • Flipkart's integration documentation states at least 1000 x 1000 px and JPEG only, with a minimum of 2 images and 3 preferred.
  • Myntra's integration documentation states 1080 x 1440 or more at a 3:4 aspect ratio and a 500 KB–1 MB file size.
  • Ajio's integration documentation states more than 1000 px in both height and width, 72 dpi and a 200 KB–1 MB file size.
  • Google Merchant Center requires at least 500 x 500 px and recommends around 1500 x 1500 px, caps images at 64 megapixels and files at 16 MB, with a new size requirement beginning January 31, 2027.
  • Shopify accepts up to 5000 x 5000 px or 25 megapixels and files under 20 MB, and publishes no background rule because it is not a marketplace.

Why resolution matters beyond just 'looking sharp'

Higher resolution isn't just about sharpness on a normal view — many marketplaces use zoom-on-hover or pinch-to-zoom features that require a minimum resolution to activate at all. An image that looks fine at thumbnail size but falls short of the zoom threshold silently loses a feature that meaningfully helps conversion, without any visible warning to the seller.

Square vs. non-square aspect ratios

Square (1:1) images remain the safest default across most marketplace grids because they display predictably in search results and category pages without unexpected cropping. Non-square images can work for secondary or lifestyle slots but risk being cropped unpredictably in list views if the platform's grid expects a specific ratio.

File format and compression

JPEG is the standard format for marketplace product photography — it balances file size and quality well for photographic content. PNG is generally reserved for images requiring transparency, which most marketplace main images don't use since they require a solid background anyway. Over-compressing a JPEG to save file size can introduce visible artifacts, especially on flat-color areas like a white background.

Why you should always check current platform specs

Marketplaces periodically update their minimum resolution, aspect ratio, and file size requirements, and specs can differ by category within the same platform. Rather than relying on a fixed number, check the current seller documentation for the specific marketplace and category before a bulk upload — this avoids the common mistake of applying last year's spec sheet to a new catalog.

Product image specs across 6 platforms: pixel minimums and background rules
PlatformMinimum pixel sizeBackground ruleAspect, format and file size
Amazon (US)500 px on the longest side; below 500 px cannot be uploaded (max 10,000 px)Pure white, RGB 255,255,255; product as 85% of the imageAny aspect; 72 dpi minimum; JPEG, TIFF, PNG, non-animated GIF
Amazon IndiaAt least 1001 pixels on the longest sideRGB 255,255,255 / hex #FFFFFF, stated as Required; colour, not black and white72 dpi minimum; same format list as the US; product at least 85% of the image area
Flipkart (Fynd integration docs)At least 1000 x 1000White or light grey; apparel needs light grey with a soft shadow and white will not be acceptedJPEG only; minimum 2 images, 3 preferred; max file size not stated
Myntra (Fynd integration docs)1080 x 1440 or moreWhite or light grey; apparel light grey with a soft shadow and white will not be accepted3:4 aspect ratio; JPEG only; 500 KB–1 MB; 72 dpi or more; front, side and back mandatory
Ajio (Fynd integration docs)More than 1000 px in both height and widthAny light background colour including white1:1.25 aspect ratio; JPEG or PNG; 200 KB–1 MB; 72 dpi; product 80–85% of the frame, 100% for detail shots
Google Shopping (Merchant Center)At least 500 x 500 px; around 1500 x 1500 px or above recommended; new size requirement beginning January 31, 2027Not specifiedMax 64 megapixels and 16 MB; JPEG and WebP recommended, PNG, GIF, BMP and TIFF accepted; fill 75–90%
ShopifyNo minimum published; up to 5000 x 5000 px or 25 megapixels; 2048 x 2048 px displays best squareNot published (not a marketplace)Files under 20 MB; PNG best, then JPEG; also TIFF, BMP, GIF, SVG, HEIC, WebP

Benefits

auto_awesome

Zoom features stay functional, supporting better product inspection

bolt

Predictable display in search grids with the right aspect ratio

verified

Avoids upload rejections from outdated resolution assumptions

How It Works

1

1

Upload your product photo to Fluxx.work.

2

2

Generate images at high resolution suited to marketplace display and zoom features.

3

3

Export in the aspect ratio that matches your target platform's grid.

Best Practices

Common Mistakes

Trusted by 1,200+ businesses worldwide

starstarstarstarstar

“We used to book a studio every quarter. Now one product photo gives us the hero, lifestyle and detail shots in a single pass, and the catalogue finally looks like one brand instead of six separate shoots.”

MT

Marcus T.

Founder, Home Goods Brand · Austin, TX

starstarstarstarstar

“The garment is genuinely the same in every frame — colour, print and trims all hold. That was the part I did not believe until we ran our own SKUs through it.”

DR

Dana R.

Head of Ecommerce, Activewear · Brooklyn, NY

starstarstarstarstar

“Glass and reflections are where most tools fall apart. Ours come out clean, so we can photograph a new scent the week it launches instead of waiting on a studio slot.”

LA

Layla A.

Founder, Fragrance Brand · Dubai, UAE

starstarstarstarstar

“Metal finish and stone detail survive a zoom now, which is what our listings actually needed. We stopped reshooting pieces that came back soft.”

OS

Omar S.

Marketing Director, Jewellery · Abu Dhabi, UAE

starstarstarstarstar

“The textures and lighting are so realistic that customers tell us they can almost feel the product. We reshoot far less than we used to.”

SP

Sneha P.

Founder, Coffee Brand · Coorg, India

starstarstarstarstar

“The AI-contextual backgrounds just work. It reads the product and picks the right aesthetic. We've stopped paying for stock photo subscriptions.”

PS

Priya S.

Founder, Skincare Brand · Mumbai, India

Frequently Asked Questions

What size should a marketplace product image be?

There is no single number. Amazon US sets a 500 px minimum on the longest side, Flipkart's integration documentation states at least 1000 x 1000 px, Myntra's states 1080 x 1440, Ajio's requires more than 1000 px in both dimensions, and Shopify allows up to 5000 x 5000 px.

Do marketplace product images need a white background?

Not always. Amazon requires pure white RGB 255,255,255 and Amazon India states hex #FFFFFF as Required, but Flipkart and Myntra apparel images want light grey with a soft shadow, and Ajio accepts any light background colour including white.

Which marketplaces reject a white background for apparel?

Flipkart and Myntra. Their integration documentation states that apparel needs a light grey background with a soft shadow and that white will not be accepted, the opposite of Amazon's RGB 255,255,255 rule for main images.

What file format and file size do Indian marketplaces accept?

Myntra's integration documentation states JPEG only at 500 KB–1 MB, Ajio's states JPEG or PNG at 200 KB–1 MB, and Flipkart's states JPEG only. Amazon accepts JPEG, TIFF, PNG and non-animated GIF at 72 dpi minimum.

How many images should a marketplace listing have?

Flipkart's integration documentation asks for a minimum of 2 images with 3 preferred; Amazon states no maximum and recommends at least 6 additional images plus 1 video; Shopify publishes no max-images rule at all.

Does Shopify follow the same image rules as Amazon?

No. Shopify allows up to 5000 x 5000 px or 25 megapixels with files under 20 MB and recommends 2048 x 2048 px for square images, but publishes no background, fill-percentage, text or max-images rule because it is not a marketplace.

Why Fluxx.work

Fluxx.work exports high-resolution images so zoom features and large-display views hold up, without guessing at platform-specific compression behavior.

Related Pages

Get started — no card needed to sign up

Start free, then 7 images for $5 with the Starter pack. See your product in a professional photo shoot in under 2 minutes.

Generate Free Photos →