The Jewelry Photography Guide: Lighting, Reflections, and Sparkle

A jewelry listing needs one main image plus six supporting images, and 7 generated images cost 84 credits — ₹339 on the ₹2,999 Pro pack, or ₹37.82 per image at Agency scale. The craft problem is the same at any price: reflections, blown highlights and no sense of scale.

By Akshita, Product Photography Writer · · Last updated:

Key facts

  • Each generated jewelry image costs 12 credits: ₹67.86 on the ₹475 Starter pack, ₹48.37 ($0.52) on the ₹2,999 Pro pack and ₹37.82 ($0.40) on the ₹24,999 Agency pack.
  • A seven-image jewelry set (one main plus six support images) costs 84 credits, which the ₹999 Growth pack's 18 images covers several times over.
  • Background removal costs 2 credits and an edit costs 10; adding QA verification at 12 credits brings an edited jewelry image to 24 credits.
  • Failed generations are refunded, credits never expire, and 4K costs the same 12 credits as 1K — no bonus charge for detail-heavy macro output.
  • Amazon's main image must be pure white RGB 255, 255, 255 with the product at 85% of the frame, at least 500 px on the longest side (1,001 px on Amazon.in).
  • Etsy recommends at least 2000 px for listing photos and allows up to 20 photos and 2 videos per listing.

Macro lighting fundamentals

Diffused, broad light sources work better than small point lights for jewelry because a small light source creates a small, harsh, distracting reflection on polished metal — a large diffused source spreads that reflection into something softer and less distracting. A light tent or diffusion panel positioned close to the product is standard for this reason.

Controlling unwanted reflections

Polished metal reflects everything nearby, including the camera itself, studio walls, and even the photographer. Shoot inside a light tent where possible, and check the frame at full zoom for reflections that aren't visible at a glance — a reflection of a window frame or ceiling light is a common issue that only shows up on close inspection.

Rendering sparkle and facets accurately

Gemstones and faceted surfaces need a light source with some directionality to create sparkle, but too much direct light blows out highlights into featureless white patches that lose all facet detail. A combination of one main diffused light plus a smaller angled light aimed to catch facets tends to produce sparkle without sacrificing detail.

Scale and context

Jewelry photographs can be deceptively hard to judge scale from — always include at least one image with a clear scale reference (worn on a hand or ear, or shown against a known object) alongside the pure product shot, since shoppers frequently misjudge actual size from a macro photo alone.

Jewelry listing image rules and costs by destination (Myntra, Flipkart and Ajio figures come from integration documentation, not the platforms' own published guides)
RequirementAmazonMyntraEtsy
Minimum pixels500 px on the longest side; 1,001 px on Amazon.in; 10,000 px maximum1080 x 1440 or more, with a 72 dpi minimumAt least 2000 px recommended; the first photo at least 635 px
BackgroundPure white RGB 255, 255, 255 on the main imageWhite or light grey; light grey with a soft shadow for apparelNot stated on Etsy's image requirements page
Product in frameProduct shown as 85% of the imageNot publishedNot stated
Images allowedNot stated; Amazon recommends at least six additional images plus one videoNot publishedUp to 20 photos and 2 videos per listing
FormatsJPEG, TIFF, PNG or non-animated GIF; JPEG recommendedJPEG only, 500 KB to 1 MB.jpg, .gif, .png, .svg or .heic; transparent .png and animated .gif are not supported
Cost per generated image12 credits — ₹48.37 ($0.52) on the ₹2,999 Pro pack12 credits — ₹48.37 ($0.52) on the ₹2,999 Pro pack12 credits — ₹48.37 ($0.52) on the ₹2,999 Pro pack

Benefits

auto_awesome

More accurate stone and metal representation, reducing return-driving surprises

bolt

Fewer distracting reflections that undercut perceived product quality

verified

Better scale communication, reducing size-related buyer confusion

How It Works

1

1

Upload a clear photo of the jewelry piece.

2

2

Fluxx.work locks exact metal tone, stone color, and detail.

3

3

Generate clean studio and on-model images with accurate sparkle and scale context.

Best Practices

Common Mistakes

Trusted by 1,200+ businesses worldwide

starstarstarstarstar

“We used to book a studio every quarter. Now one product photo gives us the hero, lifestyle and detail shots in a single pass, and the catalogue finally looks like one brand instead of six separate shoots.”

MT

Marcus T.

Founder, Home Goods Brand · Austin, TX

starstarstarstarstar

“The garment is genuinely the same in every frame — colour, print and trims all hold. That was the part I did not believe until we ran our own SKUs through it.”

DR

Dana R.

Head of Ecommerce, Activewear · Brooklyn, NY

starstarstarstarstar

“Glass and reflections are where most tools fall apart. Ours come out clean, so we can photograph a new scent the week it launches instead of waiting on a studio slot.”

LA

Layla A.

Founder, Fragrance Brand · Dubai, UAE

starstarstarstarstar

“Metal finish and stone detail survive a zoom now, which is what our listings actually needed. We stopped reshooting pieces that came back soft.”

OS

Omar S.

Marketing Director, Jewellery · Abu Dhabi, UAE

starstarstarstarstar

“The textures and lighting are so realistic that customers tell us they can almost feel the product. We reshoot far less than we used to.”

SP

Sneha P.

Founder, Coffee Brand · Coorg, India

starstarstarstarstar

“The AI-contextual backgrounds just work. It reads the product and picks the right aesthetic. We've stopped paying for stock photo subscriptions.”

PS

Priya S.

Founder, Skincare Brand · Mumbai, India

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to produce a full jewelry image set?

Seven generated images — one main plus six supporting — cost 84 credits, because an image costs 12 credits. That is ₹339 on the ₹2,999 Pro pack or ₹265 at the ₹37.82 per-image Agency rate, against ₹475 for 7 Starter-pack images at ₹67.86 each; background removal adds 2 credits and an edit adds 10.

What size should a jewelry photo be for Myntra and Amazon?

Amazon's main image needs at least 500 px on the longest side (1,001 px on Amazon.in, and no more than 10,000 px), while Myntra's listing guidance calls for 1080 x 1440 or more at 72 dpi or more in a 3:4 ratio. Etsy recommends at least 2000 px for listing photos, so 2000 px satisfies all three.

How many jewelry photos can I put in one Etsy listing?

Etsy allows up to 20 photos and 2 videos per listing and recommends at least 2000 px, with the first photo at least 635 px. Even a generous seven-image set — one main image plus six supporting images, 84 credits at 12 credits each — uses only 7 of those 20 slots.

Should I add a QA check to generated jewelry images?

QA verification costs 12 extra credits per image, taking a 12-credit generation to 24 credits — around ₹96.74 per image on the ₹2,999 Pro pack. It is worth it where a stone colour or metal tone has to match exactly; failed generations are refunded, and 4K output costs the same 12 credits as 1K.

Can I use AI for a jewelry listing that needs a scale reference?

Yes, and the scale image is a slot rather than a purchase. A seven-image set uses 7 of the 20 photos Etsy allows at 12 credits each (84 credits, ₹339 on the ₹2,999 Pro pack), leaving 13 more slots for a pair of worn scale references on a hand or an ear.

Why Fluxx.work

Fluxx.work renders metal and stone detail accurately from a single reference photo, without the reflection and overexposure issues that make jewelry hard to shoot manually.

Related Pages

Get started — no card needed to sign up

Start free, then 7 images for $5 with the Starter pack. See your product in a professional photo shoot in under 2 minutes.

Generate Free Photos →